Cloned Moneybookers.com Website

I just want to inform everyone about a possible phishing website which cloned the moneybookers webste. I happen to receive an email this morning from monyeybookers.

fromMoneyBookers <service@moneybookers.com>
tojbcabana@gmail.com,

dateNov 28, 2007 7:23 AM
subjectMoneyBookers.com:Money Received
mailed-byh1342853.stratoserver.net

hide details 7:23 AM (6 hours ago) Reply

Images are not displayed.
Display images below - Always display images from service@moneybookers.com

  Payment details

Amount: USD 296.56
ID: 985445872
Subject: You must use the link below to accept the payment.
Note: https://www.moneybookers.com/accept.php?payment_id?=985445872

Dear Sir/Madam,
We are writing you this email in regards to your account with
moneybookers.
In accordance with our terms and conditions, article 3.2., we would like
to kindly ask you to confirm your identity by doing the following:

1. Click the link below and update your account informations by filling the forms.
https://www.moneybookers.com/app/identify.pl
2. Send us copies of following documents:

    - personal identification document (identity card or driving license or
international passport)
    - a proof of the address submitted with our system (bank account
statement or utility bill)
You can send those scanned to our email address
service@moneybookers.com or faxed to +44 709 204 2001.
With best regards,
your moneybookers team

  Moneybookers Security Reminders

Protect Your Password
Moneybookers and its representatives will NEVER ask you to reveal your password. There are NO EXCEPTIONS to this policy. If anyone asks for your password by phone refuse and immediately report this to security@moneybookers.com.

I am still investigating about this and here are a few possible proof that this is not really related to the true MoneyBookers Website.

  • When I checked the details of the message i found out that it was sent using this server —-> (h1342853.stratoserver.net), while the messages I received from the true moneybookers.com uses its own domain server in sending email messages which is also moneybookers.com
  • The text link in the email is different from the underlying link and does not use a secured page or https page. The text link is https://www.moneybookers.com/accept.php?payment_id?=985445872 but when I clicked it I was redirected to http://65.254.53.134/error/app/login.pl/index.htm.
  • The real moneybookers website login page has 2 warnings under the login form about the secure page while the cloned site does not have any of these warnings.

So for those of you who happen to use MoneyBookers.com beware of this email scam.

WidgetBucks - Trend Watch - WidgetBucks.com

2 Responses to “Cloned Moneybookers.com Website”

  1. [...] Check it out! While looking through the blogosphere we stumbled on an interesting post today.Here’s a quick excerptThe real moneybookers website login page has 2 warnings under the login form about the secure page while the cloned site does not have any of these warnings. So for those of you who happen to use MoneyBookers.com beware of this email … [...]

  2. I have been recieving that same fake moneybookers.com email as you posted. Its identical right down to the money balance. I wish they could catch that crook!

Leave a Reply